top of page

Learning to love yourself

As the confetti continues to fly in Kansas City post the AFC Championship and on the road to the Super Bowl, you may have come across articles or read something about Patrick Mahomes having a voice that sounds like a “frog” or other terrible, tacky description. I cringe every time I read it, see about it or hear somebody talking about it.


You see, way back when, my speech became altered due to myasthenia gravis. When I was in the 6th grade, a class activity was done where each student had to go around and write something positive about their peer on a paper plate taped to their back. I will never forget when the plate got handed to me and I started to read through the comments and somebody had written, “I like your funny voice.” A girl, whose side job could be a detective, I knew exactly whose handwriting it was and who had said that about me.


And in those same formidable years to come, parents of two of my “friends” mimicked my speech as I called their “house lines” to speak to their children. Likely never knowing I heard them, but they clearly failed to put their hand over the mouthpiece and I heard them making fun of my speech as they called their kids to the phone. It was the last time I had the courage to call those houses and when I’ve seen those people in public some 30 years later, I haven’t forgotten how they made me feel.


It's important for me to be transparent, in no way am I perfect. I have bullied, I have made fun. I have heckled and been rude. And one of the hardest lessons we learn is accepting that, we too, made people feel less than and then making that right.


Additionally, one of the other hard lessons we learn, is learning how to move forward in life, throw caution to the wind and not care what others think about us. If you tackle anything this year in your battle with myasthenia gravis or any other chronic illness, I implore you to:


Love yourself.


Love your voice.


Love your smile.


Love what you see.


Love the steps you can take.


Love the breaths you can breathe.


Love what you bring into the world and grow more comfortable with the “who cares” what anybody else thinks mantra.


Because you know what, while people are out there squawking and making a big deal out about the sounds of Patrick Mahomes’ voice, do you think he cares? That guy is not even 30, on his way to his 3rd Super Bowl and probably can school 99% of the population on tossing a football. It’s all about perspective.


Be well and fill your February with love.

~Allison


bottom of page