top of page

In a World Where You Can Be Anything, Be Kind


By Allison Foss


For a few years, a straw controversy has been brewing and has left me with a very foul taste in my mouth. Now hear me out and bear with me. I'm not writing this to offend anybody but rather to educate a new viewpoint. Yes, I am concerned about the planet and how we treat the Earth we live on, however, I write this from the viewpoint of somebody with a chronic condition that impacts swallowing.


This banning straws controversy has caused a couple of social situations where I felt like an embarrassment. It made me feel shame for the need to have one and that shouldn't be.


First, let me share that since I was in Speech Therapy in college. It was recommended that I use a straw to drink liquids, especially water due to liquid consistency and my poor mouth closure. If you see me at home, I do generally drink from a straw; yes, plastic straw or a plastic cup because the lip on those better works with my mouth closure issues. As much as I can in public, I drink from a plastic straw or request one. Have you ever been the victim of choking or massive drooling because you can't swallow the liquid quickly or because your mouth doesn't close like everybody else? Insert straw which helps avoid those horrible social situations.


I'm all for not using things we don't need, but before you take a stand and demand restaurants not give you straws or make a scene with a waitress about not giving you a straw, consider that others around you may need one to avoid an embarrassing social situation or spillage. Because it's become such a "thing," I now have packed a baggie of straws in my purse and yes I will get one out and use it if I need to avoid the embarrassment of choking.

What’s that old saying, don’t judge a book by its cover? There is so much we don’t know about one another. Be kind.


And speaking of choking, do you know the Heimlich? Here's a good refresher!


The following blog post was written by Allison Foss, Executive Director of the Myasthenia Gravis Association. #MyastheniaGravisAssociation #MGADigest #myastheniagravis


bottom of page