top of page

Friday Feature: Jim Blaufuss, Pickleball Pickler

Ever think a diagnosis with Myasthenia gravis (MG) has put you in a pickle? Try being an active pickle ball player for over 2 years when you get the diagnosis.


Meet Jim Blaufuss

 

How long have you been playing pickleball? "I've been playing pickleball for over 6 years."

 

Were you active before you started playing pickleball? "Always very active in sports. Many years of playing senior slow pitch softball. Also ran full and half marathons a few times in the past 15 years. "

 

Tell us about your matches? Do you play with the same people? How many times a week? "I play at least 5 days a week for two to three hours each day. I like to play against very good players and do play with and against different players." 

 

Why do you enjoy pickleball? "I enjoy pickleball because this is a game people can play of any age, size and speed. It is more a game of finesse, than speed and power. Although speed does help."

 

When were you diagnosed with MG? "I was first diagnosed with MG in November of 2019. I was on a pickleball court and suddenly I could not see the ball coming from my left side." 

 

Has your diagnosis impacted your pickleball routine? "About one year ago I developed generalized Myasthenia Gravis. I now have a lot of leg pain and weakness and it is difficult to breath. The good news is that when I am moving on a pickleball court I have no pain at all, and my breathing is okay. My pain is gone for a good hour after I am done playing. Constant activity seems to help with the pain."

 

It sounds like Jim isn't the only one digging pickleball. Did you know that Overland Park, KS was named the nations most pickleball obsessed city based on an online survey? Kudos to Jim for keeping moving each day!



 

bottom of page