top of page

Friday Feature: Griselda Delgado Torres

Did you know that March is Social Work Month? In our Friday Feature this month, we want to introduce you to one very inspiring patient who is also on the path to obtain her Master of Social Work. Meet Griselda Delgado Torres


Tell us about yourself, Griselda

I am a daughter, sister, wife, and mother to a 9-year-old with a dual diagnosis of Down syndrome and Autism. I am 33 years old, born and raised in California. I moved to Arkansas over 12 years ago. I love to travel and spend time with my family. I am currently in my last semester of graduate school at University of Arkansas Little Rock, pursuing a master's degree in Social Work. Oh, and I have MG.

When were you diagnosed with myasthenia gravis? What do you do for treatments?

I became symptomatic around the age of 14. I was officially diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis 18 years ago, in 2005. My treatments consist of Pyridostigmine, Imuran, Prednisone, and most recently VyVgart infusions (1 infusion weekly for 4 weeks straight and a break in between), which have made all the difference since my symptoms worsened in 2020.

When did you decide to pursue social work and what do you plan to do with your degree?

Several years back, I felt unsatisfied with the profession I was in. I knew I had much more to offer than what I was doing then. I looked into social work and realized it was a much broader field than I thought. I took an intro so social work class, and I was all in after that.

I envision myself helping people of all backgrounds and abilities, focusing specifically on the Spanish-speaking community and special needs families due to their unique challenges. Being a part of both of these intersecting identities, I can empathize and be a great asset in helping these families find assistance to overcome some of the institutional barriers many take for granted.

Did your diagnosis with myasthenia gravis have anything to do with your decision to pursue social work?

In all honesty, no. Because I had already dropped out of college because of MG. For a long time, MG was what stopped me from pursuing further education. Later, I realized that I could use myself and my condition as an opportunity to embrace different abilities as a tool for empowerment, and here I am, less than two months away from a master’s degree.

Do you have any advice for other patients who are pursuing a social work degree?

As with any career anyone would like to pursue; my advice would be, just do it. You do not want to spend the rest of your life thinking, “what if…” I am sure anyone with MG has experienced social disadvantages and has needed support and services. In the field of social work, you CAN be that person bringing individuals and families the support they need by connecting them to needed resources and empowering them.


Kudos and thank you for sharing Griselda!


bottom of page