top of page

Spring Cleaning with MG

The sun is poking out in the Midwest and it feels like we can finally enjoy the outdoors. It’s that time of the year where we open the windows, let the fresh air breeze through, and take a moment to spring clean! If you’re weird like me and find spring cleaning an enjoyable task, you’ve come to the right place. Having a clean, tidy home sets the tone for how I feel and I personally think it helps me live a better life with MG.


Spring cleaning wasn’t always fun for me though. I would get frustrated and overwhelmed by all the chores I couldn’t complete because of my MG. Over the course of the years, I have found what works for me and I want to share my tips with you. Check out my 5 Tips to Spring Clean with MG Below!


Break it Down

No, I don’t mean do a little dance, although sometimes that makes cleaning more fun! What I actually mean is: divide your spring cleaning into stages. It’s easy to feel defeated by all the daunting tasks that have to be completed. Instead of trying to tackle it all at once, try taking on one project a day. For example, some might say to themselves, “I am going to clean the kitchen today.” I don’t know about you, but with MG, that sounds like a job that is going to set me up for failure. Instead, I break down the chore even further. For instance, I will say, “I am going to clean out my junk drawer today,” or, “I am going to clean out my refrigerator today and then my freezer tomorrow,” or, “I am going to give myself one hour to straighten up the kitchen cabinets.” Splitting up these responsibilities by time or task will help you conserve that energy we all need to get through the rest of the day.


Less is More

I live in a small apartment with not a lot of storage. Things accumulate over the course of the years and it stresses me out when I have junk lying around my home. I have, or at least tried to embrace a minimalist approach to my house. It’s easier to manage, especially day-to-day. For instance, I replaced all my glass plates with plastic plates. Furthermore, I only bought 4 of them. The plastic plates are super lightweight and are easier for me to put away. With 4 plates, I know I will have enough when a friend or two stops by for dinner, and the dishes won’t be piling up in the sink on my weak days with MG.


At Your Service

So now you have all this stuff to give away, but donating it is a whole other task in itself. Do yourself a favor and find a local charity that comes to your door for curbside donations. There are plenty of organizations that have this option and it will save your strength by not having to carry all the heavy things you just decluttered!


Another option is selling your clothes. If you’re like me, you may have pieces in your closet that still have the tag on them (I know, I know, don’t shame me!) There are different apps now that allow you to post, sell, and ship your clothing to people across the country. Doing all of that work though can sometimes give me anxiety. More recently I have used a service called Thredup—it’s an online consignment shop where you can buy or sell clothes, but they do all of the “dirty work” for you! They send you a bag, you put all your donations in the bag, send it off, and they take care of the selling. Something like Thredup is a great service that allows you to conserve your energy and bonus, make a profit.


Spring Cleaning: 21st Century Edition

Cell phones are basically another appendage. We use them every day and rely on them for many different things. My phone is my calendar, photo album, mailbox, network, wallet, etc…Whenever you are resting after a long day with MG, maybe hop on your phone and delete unused apps or random screenshots/pictures that are taking over your storage. Also, invest in one of those UV sanitizing lights for electronics. In the era of COVID-19, I’ll take all the protection I can get!


Bottle It Up

I have a really cool collection that I keep. Want to know what it is? Pill bottles. Okay, maybe not the coolest but you get the point. I have a whole bag of empty pill bottles that sit in a bag just waiting to be repurposed. Rip and shred the label after you finish taking your prescription and find ways to reuse the containers. I may start throwing extra change in one of them and keep it in my car for when I park at a meter so I’m not scrambling for quarters at the bottom of my purse when the time comes. Also, FYI: in case you have unused prescription drugs that are stowed away in your medicine cabinet, National Prescription Drug Take Back Day is coming up on April 24th, 2021. This day aims to provide a safe and efficient way of disposing prescription drugs appropriately. To learn more about the day, head to https://takebackday.dea.gov/


Happy cleaning, everyone! Remember: small steps, keep things simple, utilize services, don’t forget about your technology, and check expiration dates! Do you have any tips for spring cleaning for MG patients? Let us know!

 

The following blog post was written by Meridith O'Connor, St. Louis Program Coordinator for the Myasthenia Gravis Association.

bottom of page