top of page

MGA Feature Friday: Christina Kohn

On Friday, August 27th, the Myasthenia Gravis Association in partnership with the Kansas City Iowa State Alumni Club will host the 4th Annual Cy’s Crown Town Trivia Night at the Vox Theatre. This event came to fruition when the Kansas City Iowa State Alumni Club approached the MGA about becoming their charity of choice and through the Iowa State initiative of Cy’s Day of Service which promotes alums giving back in their community. Because the MGA is a small organization the alumni club assists with the planning and hosting of the event for a truly unique experience. From this partnership has bloomed many connections of patients and families including Christina Kohn.


Meet Christina:


What is your name? Where are you from?

CK: My name is Christina Kohn and I am from Kansas City, MO.


What is your role in the MG community?

CK: I am on the planning committee for the 4th annual Cy’s Crown Town Trivia Night.


Can you describe your role as a member of the planning committee?

CK: I am helping plan the fundraiser that occurs during trivia night.


How long have you been involved with the MGA?

CK: This is my first year helping with the trivia event. I volunteered approximately 10 years ago when the Iowa State Alumni got involved with the MGA 5K run. For the last few years, my family and I have actually done the 5K, with this last year being in the pouring rain!


What drove you to support the MGA community?

CK: 20 years ago, my father, who is now 77 years old, was diagnosed with MG. Because I went to Iowa State and was aware of the alumni association, when they asked for volunteers to help with this, it seemed like a natural pairing.


What are your favorite aspects of volunteering for the MGA?

CK: I love to help wherever/whenever I possibly can. I figure as long as I am healthy and in a position to help others, I will certainly do the most I can.


Prior to volunteering for the MGA, had you heard of myasthenia gravis?

CK: I had never heard of this prior to my father being diagnosed. Prior to the involvement with the MGA, I still had never known/met anyone with this disease.


What have you learned as a result of being involved with the MGA? Has myasthenia gravis, the MGA, and/or MG patients impacted your own life?

CK: I have learned that my father is very lucky that when he was getting his diagnosis, he was with a neurologist who knew, and had worked with this disease. He is on a medication regimen that has worked wonderfully for him. He gets tired from time to time, but for a 77-year-old, he is still very active in his community and is actually the Mayor of the small town in Iowa that I grew up in.


What are you looking forward to as a 2021 volunteer for the MGA?

CK: I am very much looking forward to the Trivia Night because it will be a great fundraiser and a way to meet other people that have been affected in some way by this disease. I hope to continue to be involved and help grow this event each year.


Is there anything else you would like to add?

CK: I’m very excited and honored to be a part of the Trivia Night planning committee.


*Due to the increase of COVID-19 in the region and the mask mandate for Wyandotte County, all trivia night attendees will be asked to social distance and wear a mask when not eating or drinking. Facemasks and hand sanitizer will be provided. The Myasthenia Gravis Association supports those who are immunocompromised and it is of our utmost concern to keep patients, their families, and friends safe. If you are feeling ill or have been exposed, we ask that you stay home. Please note that you will be able to support us virtually through our trivia night online auction. If you wish to attend our trivia night at Vox Theatre, head to www.mgakc.org to purchase a ticket. Thank you for your support during these crucial times!


bottom of page