top of page

Friday Feature: Meet Kelsey Sims & Griselda Torres, Central Arkansas Support Group Leaders

We are excited to share some new faces! Kelsey Sims & Griselda Torres are our Support Group Leaders for Central Arkansas. They would love to meet you at our next Central Arkansas meeting on Thursday September 14th from 5:30-7:00pm at the CAL Fletcher Library. This is a general support group meeting open to individuals with myasthenia gravis and their family members. Let us know if you can make it - info@mgakc.org.


With no further ado, meet Kelsey and Griselda!



Name: Kelsey Sims


Tell us a little about yourself?

I am originally from Russellville, Arkansas but relocated to Central Arkansas for college. In 2015, I graduated with my Bachelor of Science degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders from University of Central Arkansas. About three years ago, I relocated to Little Rock for my occupation. I am a Lead Teacher’s Assistant for the ACCESS Early Childhood program. I teach in a Kindergarten style classroom for students with extended academic needs. In my spare time, I enjoy meditating, doing yoga, making arts and crafts projects, and attending and volunteering at church.

How long have you had MG?

I was diagnosed with MG in November 2005, at the age of 15. Two thymectomies and myasthenic crises, physical therapy, and numerous other treatment modalities later, I am doing much better. I lead a fairly normal life with rest as needed.

What are you most looking forward to with the Central Arkansas Group?

I look forward to meeting others with MG, and listen to their needs and challenges. I am very empathetic, and enjoy helping people. I know firsthand just how difficult MG can be.

If somebody was on the fence on attending a support group, what would you tell them?

I would say, “Look at it this way: you have nothing to lose, and everything to gain.” In our Central Arkansas support group, individuals have the opportunity to meet and engage with others who are walking through similar journeys. There is something about knowing one is not alone in navigating the sometimes difficult treatment path and life adjustments.


Name: Griselda Torres

Tell us a little about yourself? I am a California native who moved to Aransas after getting married over ten years ago. I have a 9-year-old son who happens to have a dual diagnosis of Down syndrome and Autism. I graduated with a Master's in Social Work in May 2023 and became state licensed Aug 7, 2023. I love to travel, watch mindless TV, and visit my family in California whenever I can.


How long have you had MG? I was officially diagnosed with MG in May of 2005, and it’s been a wild rollercoaster!

What are you most looking forward to with the Central Arkansas Group? I am looking forward to building a network with others who have MG. I have been through so much, but I have also accomplished so much. I would love to share my journey in hopes of inspiring others. I would love to get to know more local people who have MG. I would love for all those diagnosed with MG to be able to meet, have a safe place to vent, support each other, engage in activities together, and create desperately needed awareness.

If somebody was on the fence on attending a support group, what would you tell them? I would ask, “What are you afraid of? What is the worst that could happen if you attend? Chances are, one of us will have already experienced or gone through whatever it may be that is holding us back from attending. On the other hand, imagine all you can gain. Give yourself the opportunity to meet people who could turn into lifelong friends who will support you and help you through this journey with MG.

We hope you'll join us on Thursday September 14th!


bottom of page