top of page

Friday Feature: Meet Celia Meyer



To continue our celebration of women in the MG space and honoring Women's Military History Month, this week we would like to introduce you to Celia Meyer. She is a former Hospital Corpman, who served in the Navy and was diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis. Learn more about her service bellow.


Title/Rank: HM2, Hospital Corpsman second class


When were you diagnosed with MG?

I was diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis in October of 2013.


Why did you choose to join the military and which branch did you serve in?

I decided to join the military because I was not ready to go to college right after high school. I grew up in central Iowa.  I chose the Navy because many of their bases were located along the coast; and I wanted to be close to the water.  I also had multiple friends who had joined the Navy.


How long did you serve?

11 years.


What did you do in the military? I was enlisted.  I was a hospital corpsman and had additional training as an aviation medical technician.  When I was in the Navy, hospital corpsman could see patients, prescribe treatments and perform minor procedures.  I saw patients in sick call, I was the senior corpsman in charge of the treatment room and cool room (for heat illness emergencies) at the branch medical clinic located on Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island. I served as the squadron corpsman in 2 VP squadrons (anti-submarine warfare squadrons that flew the P3 Orion airplane) and I worked in patient affairs at the Naval hospital in Jacksonville Fl.


Where did you serve? Naval Air Station(NAS) Pensacola Fl, Marine Corps Air Station(MCAS) Beaufort SC, Naval Hospital and Marine Corp Recruit Depot Beaufort SC, VP-56, VP-16 at NAS Jacksonville, Fl, and my last tour at Naval Hospital Jacksonville, Fl.


Do you have a favorite place you were stationed at? When I was with the VP squadrons we went on deployments to NAS Bermuda, NAS Sigonella (Sicily), NAS Keflavik (Iceland). We would go overseas for 6 months and back to NAS Jacksonville for a year.  It was wonderful to experience these other countries with all they had to offer and to travel from these locations. 


What was one of your most memorable moments while serving?  The most memorable and rewarding job I had was working in patient affairs, at the Naval Hospital Jacksonville.  I served as the liaison between the Navy and the civilian treatment facilities when active-duty members were hospitalized at civilian treatment facilities.  Active duty would be hospitalized at the civilian treatment facilities if they required care that was not available at the local military treatment facilities.  I advocated for the active-duty members, working with the individuals and their next of kin, when necessary, to assure they received the best care possible. I arranged transportation to the most appropriate facility when it was appropriate to transport the individual.  This was deeply rewarding, advocating for the active-duty members.  Making sure they received the best care possible. 


Any parting words? I am honored to have been able to have served my country in the United States Navy. It was 11 of the best years of my life.  I still keep in touch with many of my fellow shipmates. 

bottom of page