top of page

Finding Healing Paws: Featuring Melissa & the Transformative Power of Animal Companionship


This week we celebrated National Pet Day, we're reminded of the immeasurable joy and companionship our furry friends bring into our lives. Beyond just being adorable companions, pets play a profound role in our overall well-being, particularly for those navigating health challenges. Melissa Lathrop expresses just that and the challenges that you may face caring for animals while having MG. Read more about her journey with MG and her love of animals, which predates her diagnoses.


Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your journey with myasthenia gravis?

I started having symptoms of MG in 2014/15 with breathing problems but when I would go to the ER, they would find nothing wrong with me of course after several hours of tests and laying there doing nothing. Would also have severe neck pain and went to the doctor for that and they just gave me injections for the pain. And then I was having vision issues and eye drooping at night and casually said something to my eye doctor about it and he said it wasn’t normal and it could possibly be MG or MS and I should see my primary and get tested.  Well, I was negative for all the blood work and so, I was still stumped! Luckily, I was sent to a great neurologist who did some testing and still believed it could be MG and started me on some medication.  This was all in a 2 very long year period.  And unfortunately, I had gotten worse over these 2 years and had my first MG crisis in May of 2017.  So, I was officially diagnosed shortly after that when they did single fiber emg and I was actually positive for it.


How long have you had pets, and what inspired you to bring them into your life?

I have always have at least 1 pet of some sort in my life since I can remember.  But my parents only allowed 1 animal growing up, I am a little different!


What types of animals do you have, and how many? How have your pets impacted your life since your diagnosis with myasthenia gravis?

I have 2 cats, one who found us, shortly after moving into our current house, he just wondered onto our property and didn’t leave! Jack is the best, most chill cat around! About a year later, I rescued, Ace, our second cat, off of Facebook. Ace, is definitely, my cat! He can be a nice cat too some people, but he very protective of my room, and me! Even the dogs are afraid of him! He has to be brushed, when I brush my hair, get a drink when I do, and sleep when I do! LOL

Next comes the 3 dogs, Chelsea, is the oldest, a very unique Shepard/cattle dog mix and is one of our many foster fails over the years. She is 11 and is attached to my husband.  Next is Chief, and he is my boy.  He is another foster fail. He is 10 1/2 and a gorgeous German Shepard.  He actually was trained as my service dog for a while, when I was first diagnosed!! Next, is Junior, he is a golden retriever who is 4 1/2 who was given to us to foster when he as 4 months old and then we ended up keeping and adopting. He is huge, and my youngest swears he is going to take him when he moves into his house next year but he is attached to me also so we will see.


Have you noticed any unique or unexpected ways in which your pets understand or respond to your condition?

If I am not feeling well, (i.e. don’t get out of bed) both Chief and Junior will stay in bed with me all day.  Also, when Chief was younger, and I would be weak and could get up off the ground he would allow me to use him to get up. He would just stand there next to me on the ground till I got up.

 

How do you manage caring for your pets while dealing with the symptoms of myasthenia gravis?

I am blessed to have a husband and a son who still live with me, who will help to take care of them, if I am not able to feed and water the animals on a daily basis.


How do you think your bond with your pets has evolved or strengthened since your diagnosis?

I am definitely closer to Chief and Ace and Junior.  Not sure if it's because, we spent a lot of time laying around or just their personalities and I bonded more.


Have you found any specific benefits or therapeutic effects from interacting with your pets in relation to your myasthenia gravis?

Special benefits for me are the unconditional love that my animals give me daily.  They also, give me a reason to try and make my muscles move and exercise them as much as they can to make sure the animals have the food and water they need.  Which is important for us MGers to get some exercise, even if it’s walking around our house doing small chores like feeding animals or throwing the ball for the dogs!


What advice would you give to others with myasthenia gravis who may be considering bringing a pet into their life?

If you are thinking of bringing a pet into your life, just make sure you have a good people around you, that can help you, in case you get sick and also have a wonderful vet!


Is there anything else you'd like to share about the role your pets play in your journey with myasthenia gravis?

They are the best! And try and take them everywhere if you can! Including the triple crown race!

bottom of page