top of page

Embracing Fall with Myasthenia Gravis

This Halloween week has me excited for everything fall. What do you look forward to when the leaves begin to change? With autumn in full swing, here are a few tips to embrace fall with myasthenia gravis in mind.


1. Do something that scares you. In honor of spooky season, challenge yourself to try something new that you have been wanting to do but fear has been holding you back. I get anxious about trying new things because I worry my MG will act up and humiliate me. But FEAR NOT! This fall, I am going to attempt to do something that scares me…perhaps I will take up a new sport. I hear pickleball is in vogue.

2. Carve out some time for creativity. I love the idea of carving pumpkins, but the thought of using all that muscle and energy to illustrate my subpar DIY skills sounds wasteful. Instead of carving them, how about painting them or drawing on them? I plan to put decals on my pumpkins like this! I’m definitely capable of slapping a sticker on a pumpkin to make it look fancy.

3. Eat gingerly. Bring on all the fall foods, and I don’t mean pumpkin spice lattes, (although I am guilty of loving those too). Swap out those sugary coffee drinks for some herbal tea, like this Sweet Ginger Citrus Turmeric Vitality Tea from Yogi. Studies have shown that ingredients like ginger and turmeric contain anti-inflammatory properties. I am always looking for healthy ways to reduce inflammation in my body. Eat intentionally, meaning; choose foods that will fuel your body, not ones that will slow you down.

4. Escape your mind by digging into a good book. My book club is back up and running and yes, we are the type of book club that actually talks about the book! As the temps get cooler and we head into snuggle season, grab yourself a book. One of the best distractions I find, (when my eyes are strong), is to get lost in a book. Did you know you can also download books to listen to on tape? This may not be a novel idea, yet it is one that has helped me many times.


5. What did the boy say to the rabbit that was pulled out of the magician's hat? Silly rabbit, Twix are for kids! Did you know that in St. Louis (my hometown), we have to tell a joke to earn our candy when trick-or-treating?! It's true. Speaking of candy, we recently held a virtual support group led by Graham Naasz, DDS, discussing dental considerations with MG. It is important to make your dentist aware of your MG, and moreover, discuss accommodations that you may need during your next dental appointment. Don't go overboard on the candy this Halloween!


Speaking of Halloween, here are a few throwback photos of the MGA team celebrating when they were kids! Have a safe and healthy weekend, everyone!








bottom of page