top of page

The Gift of Life: MGA Executive Director Reflects on Significance of Birthday Celebrations

Author: Allison Foss, Executive Director of the MGA


Earlier this week I had another trip around the sun. Believe it or not, I love celebrations! I love having birthdays and I love it when others have birthdays. Sure, I am feeling the effects of aging. Cue my gray hair and forehead wrinkles.

If I’m telling the truth, I’ll tell you, I can’t stand it when other people complain about having a birthday. What’s the alternative to having a birthday. Oh, yah…..


I’m not sure when my love for birthdays began. Could it be because I’ve lived over 35 years with MG and I feel firsthand desire to want to be alive, to want to be present, and to want to be active? Or that I’ve felt and seen how precious life is not only with my own battle but as I’ve walked along with others in their battle with MG over these last few years as the Director of the MGA. I can’t put a finger on it but if my family and friends wonder why I’m dragging out my birthday three weeks from now this is why. Isn’t it great to be alive?

While I have your attention on the topic of celebrations, the MGA has a rather BIG one coming up. COVID-19 has dampened our parade just a tad so our in-person celebration won’t take place until 2021 but we are turning 60! 60 years of providing supports and services to those impacted with MG around the heartland! We are so proud of this milestone and the steps it took to get us here.

We embrace those who founded our organization. Those who kept building on what was founded, the consistent forces who kept us going strong when it wasn’t always easy, and those who celebrated us along the way! Our organization has grown leaps and bounds and we are serving more today than we ever have before. We know we are making footprints and paving a path of hope for those who are newly diagnosed and those who are in a furious battle with this incurable disease.


So won’t you help us celebrate over the next couple of months and in-person in June 2021? Celebrate where we’ve come, where we’re at, and where we are about to go! The party isn’t over yet! Cheers to 60 Years MGA!



This blog post was written by Allison Foss, Executive Director of the Myasthenia Gravis Association.

bottom of page