top of page

The Dog Days of Summer: MG and Pets

Did you know that the simple act of petting a dog can lower cortisol (stress hormone) levels and increase oxytocin (“feel-good hormone”)? It’s no wonder they call dogs a man’s best friend!


In honor of National Dog Day, (Wednesday, August 26th), we thought it would be fun to explore the impact pets can have on our lives, particularly those living with chronic illness. Research has shown that in addition to reducing stress, having a pet can lower blood pressure, encourage physical activity, improve heart health, alleviate loneliness and depression, can aid those with visual impairments and mobility issues, and even detect underlying health issues such as seizures or cancer.


I can most definitely speak to that research—my childhood dog saved my life and honestly, I don’t know where I would be today if it wasn’t for her. During the time of my misdiagnosis when no one could determine what was wrong with me, I was incredibly alone and was in a constant state of stress, anxious about the unknown. My Cali girl, a sweet golden retriever, unfortunately passed unexpectedly at a very young age, but the time I had with her was priceless. I take comfort in knowing she did her job in this world and that was to love me unconditionally and show me that there was hope to hold onto.

Meridith, St. Louis Program Coordinator of the MGA and her childhood dog, Cali.


 

Allison Foss, our executive director, can also attest to the important role her pet has played in her life:


“Rescuing Ries has been one of the greatest joys of my life. She can be hunting rabbits in the backyard but in the next second come inside and be my best sidekick while I recover from a plasmapheresis treatment. It’s almost as if she reads when I’m tired or knows I need rest because she’ll stay right at my side. I can’t think about where I’d be without her these past 6 months, as a person with an autoimmune disease, needing to be in strict quarantine due to COVID-19.”

Allison, Executive Director of the MGA and her dog, Ries.


 

Nevertheless, the responsibility of a pet should not be underestimated, especially those living with myasthenia gravis. Here are a few things to consider when thinking about getting a pet:


Type of Pet

While I may be more of a dog-person, pups may need more of you than say cats who are a little more independent. Finding the right “type” of pet to love may require more thought for someone who is chronically ill compared to someone who is healthy.


Breed, Age, and Temperament

St. Bernard or Beagle? Poodle or Basset Hound? Puppy or Adolescent? Breed, age, and temperament should also be taken into consideration when you have myasthenia. A smaller, older dog may be easier to handle in comparison to a puppy who will grow to be over 80 pounds. Additionally, those with myasthenia aren’t necessarily known for being the most “hyper” individuals. The same goes for your pet; maybe think about if you want a fluffy companion to lay next to or if you want/have the ability to offer enough exercise and energy to your canine. There are so many middle-aged/older dogs that have been surrendered and need homes. Take a look at some of the rescues that specifically have a mission to find forever homes for senior dogs!


Time & Financial Responsibility

Pets cost money! They also require a lot of our time. Make sure you have the capability of providing a safe, healthy, and loving home to a pet that will depend on you entirely. While many people get pets because they are cute and cuddly, it is important to remember that they also need medical care, grooming, activity, and socialization (all of which, costs $$$!).


Support for When you Are Weak/Ill

Do you have friends or family you can go to that would be willing to care for your pet when you may be ill or are too weak? Identify people in your life that would be inclined to help you when you are struggling or just need assistance. In doing so, you won’t have to stress about it at the time of need.

Fun Fact: dogs can have myasthenia gravis too! Pets can have such a wonderful impact on our lives, but it is important to consider various factors that could impact our myasthenia. Here’s to the last few dog days of summer!


This blog post was written by Meridith O'Connor, St. Louis Program Coordinator of the Myasthenia Gravis Association.

bottom of page