top of page

MGA Feature Friday: Autum Hood

I typically would march my way out of St. Louis and head to somewhere warm and sunny this month but with the 70-degree-weather I may not have to! Spring break doesn't feel the same as an adult, with the exception of teachers of course. In fact, most of my friends are teachers and I think they may enjoy it even more now compared to when they were kids. For this Feature Friday, we decided to chat with a local teacher that has been living with MG for almost 10 years.


This week we are featuring Autum Hood. Meet Autum:


What is your name? Where are you from?

AH: My name is Autum Hood and I am from Oak Grove, Missouri.


Are you able to work? If so, what do you do for a living?

AH: I am a middle school science teacher and have been teaching for 13 years!


What is your role in the MG community?

AH: I have myasthenia gravis.


How long have you been living with MG?

AH: I have been living with a MG diagnosis for almost 10 years.


Prior to being diagnosed, had you ever heard of MG?

AH: I had not.


How does MG currently affect you today (symptoms/treatments/etc.)?

AH: My symptoms are typically mild, mainly from the neck up. I struggle often with my speech and swallowing. I receive Rituxan infusions about every 2 years, but most recently have been taking prednisone to avoid a severely weakened immune system during the pandemic.


In your opinion, what is the biggest need you see in the MG community?

AH: I think creating awareness is the biggest need in the MG community. Since we don't "look sick," it is difficult for people to understand the daily struggle we experience and the severity of MG.


How has myasthenia gravis impacted your own life (other than being symptomatic)?

AH: In the beginning, I had to be creative about how to teach, especially when I felt weak and/or was unable to talk. MG still requires me to be very flexible and adaptive in lessons when my symptoms are bad. I have utilized technology to help me teach, which has been essential for me at times.


What have you learned from having an MG diagnosis? Has it taught you anything?

AH: Honestly, MG has given me hope for our future generations. My students have always been the kindest and compassionate people to me when I am having a "bad day." My own children have seen me struggle and have become very considerate to others in public and at school. I used to worry about teaching with MG and now I know my students will always be a part of my support system.


Is there anything else you would like to add?

AH: I am so grateful for the support I have received from my family, friends (especially those I have made that have MG), and for Allison! I encourage others with MG to find their "team" to help and support them through their MG journey.

bottom of page